Each week this year, I am challenging myself to memorize a Scripture verse (or verses). This week’s verse is Galatians 2:20.

In this verse, Paul declares Christianity to mean we die to self, and allow Christ to live in/through us. Think about that…

That implies:

I. My Crucifixion
A. Convicted
1. I was charged with disobeying God’s laws. I was convicted for my sins.
2. The Judge (God) said my “righteousness” was like filthy, nasty, dirty rags and He could not have a relationship with me because of the darkness of my life.
B. Condemned
1. The Judge didn’t have to listen to the case very long; He declared me guilty as charged.
2. The Judge then sentenced me to the punishment that had already been set up: death.
C. Crucified
1. What I deserved was a slow painful death.
2. My sentence of death was a fair and just decision and justice had been served.

II. My New Life
A. Death… I had to die to what I was.
B. Burial… The old me was buried.
C. Resurrection… After my death and burial, I was given a new life. I was born again.

III. My Life Today
A. New Creation
1. The only reason I could become a new creation was because of the cruel death Jesus suffered for me on the cross.
2. In order to become this new creation, I had to accept the free gift of salvation through faith in Jesus Christ.
B. New Boss
1. The old me was his own boss… or so he thought. (It was actually Satan and the world).
2. Although salvation is a free gift, it cost me everything. It cost me my life. Jesus is now the boss.
C. New Purpose
1. My old purpose was to please myself.
2. Jesus’ purpose through me is to please God.

Have you died to self… and allowed Jesus to reside in your new life? If not, it is time to put yourself to death.
If you have been born again, how are you doing concerning the old you? Who’s the boss… and what is your purpose?

Leave a Reply

