JESUS LOVES ME                                                                           written in 1859

The Story

            Anna Warner and her sister, Susan, grew up near the West Point Military Academy, where they became known for leading Sunday School services for the young men there. After the death of their father, a New York lawyer, the sisters supported themselves with their various literary endeavors. Susan became known as a best-selling novelist. Anna also wrote novels and published 2 collections of poems.

Anna wrote this simple hymn in 1859; it was written to be included in one of her sister’s novels, entitled Say and Seal. In the story, it was a poem of comfort spoken to a dying child.

A couple years later, it was put to music by William Bradbury and a chorus was added to it. Since then, it has been sung by millions of voices – both young and old. It has been translated into more languages than any other song… and has been used by more missionaries than any other song to teach of God’s love.

I have learned more about theology in this simple song than I did in earning my Seminary degree!

The Song

            Read this hymn, and make it your own song of testimony today!

Jesus loves me – this I know, for the Bible tells me so;
little ones to Him belong – they are weak, but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me!  Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!  The Bible tells me so.

Jesus loves me – He who died, Heaven’s gate to open wide;
He will wash away my sin, let His little child come in.  (chorus)

Jesus loves me – loves me still, though I’m very weak and ill;
from His shining throne on high comes to watch me where I lie.  (chorus)

Jesus loves me – He will stay close beside me all the way,
then His little child will take up to Heaven for His dear sake.  (chorus)

Leave a Reply

