I WILL SING OF THE MERCIES OF THE LORD                        written in 1864

The Story

The words of the chorus of this song come from Psalm 89:1: “I will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever”.

The composer of the tune and the author of the lyrics of this hymn are unknown. Fred & James Fillmore were brothers living in the Cincinnati, Ohio area. Both of them were ministers and traveling music teachers, teaching piano, organ, and singing in Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, and elsewhere. Together, they started a music company called The Fillmore Brothers Publishing Company, and they published a magazine that included some of the new songs they wrote.

Since James wrote more music than Fred did, it is assumed that’s why this song was credited to James. But, recently this song has been discovered in one of Fred’s collections of gospel songs. Whichever brother wrote this hymn – if either brother wrote it, this song was forgotten until it was rediscovered in the late 1950s… when youth groups, Sunday School classes, and Vacation Bible Schools started singing it again.

And it’s such a fun song to sing!  And it may be one of the first “modern choruses” written…

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – sing of the mercies of the Lord!

I will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever;
I will sing, I will sing.
I will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever;
I will sing of the mercies of the Lord.

With my mouth will I make known
Thy faithfulness, Thy faithfulness.
With my mouth will I make known
Thy faithfulness to all generations….

Leave a Reply

