RISE AGAIN                                                                                       written in 1977

The Story

            David Wilkerson, who lived the story – and then wrote it – you know as The Cross and the Switchblade (I can remember reading it as a comic book, and Pat Boone starred in the movie of the same name), had asked 22-year-old Dallas Holm to be the soloist and song leader in his youth crusade ministry. Before long, they felt a praise band should be started, too (they became known as “Dallas Holm and Praise”).

Dallas Holm soon realized he had a challenge: he needed new material. So he determined to write some songs. When he first sat down, his mind was blank – he couldn’t come up with anything. So, he prayed… and part of his prayer was, “Lord, if You were singing, what would You sing?”

Think about it… most of the songs you sing in church are about God/Jesus or to God/Jesus. But Dallas – as crazy as it might sound – imagined Jesus standing on a street corner, playing a guitar, and singing. What would He be singing about? Then this song came to Dallas. He says, “God wrote the song, I just delivered the message.”

Dallas Holm would write many great songs throughout his Christian music career, but none more known than “Rise Again”.

The Song

Read this song, and – today – read it as though Jesus is speaking to YOU… because He is!

Go ahead, drive the nails in My hands; laugh at me, where you stand.
Go ahead, and say it isn’t Me; the day will come, when you will see.

CHORUS
‘Cause I’ll rise again, ain’t no power on earth can keep Me down!
Yes, I’ll rise again, Death can’t keep Me in the ground.

Go ahead, mock My name; My love for you is still the same.
Go ahead, and bury Me; but very soon, I will be free!  CHORUS

Go ahead, and say I’m dead and gone, but you will see that you were wrong.
Go ahead, try to hide the Son; but all will see that I’m the One!

‘Cause I’ll come again!  Ain’t no power on earth can keep me back!
Yes, I’ll come again; come to take My people back.

Leave a Reply

