JESUS LOVES EVEN ME                                                               written in 1871

The Story

Philip Bliss (1838-1876) wrote several hymns, including this hymn.

Philip had attended a worship service in which the song, “Oh, How I Love Jesus” had been sung over and over again (what? they sang the same words over and over?? I thought only those contemporary worship leaders did that! though that song was only 16 years old then…). Philip had nothing against that hymn, but he thought to himself, Haven’t I been singing enough about my poor love for Jesus? Shouldn’t I rather sing of His great love for me?  Then, thinking about Romans 5:5, which speaks of how dearly God loves us, he wrote, “Jesus loves even me”.

A few years later, he received all the reward he needed for this hymn. A woman in Scotland told him how God had used this hymn to win her husband to Christ. Her 3-year-old daughter couldn’t remember many of the actual words to the song, but she remembered the line: “Jesus loves even me”. The mother had tried to get her husband to attend an evangelistic meeting, but he refused. Then one day, when he came home from work, he was met by his little girl. He picked her up, and she threw her arms around him, saying, “Daddy, Jesus loves even me!” Then she said, “And Daddy, Jesus loves even you!”  The father was touched by those simple words. He attended the meetings with his wife and daughter, and gave his life to Jesus.

Yes… Jesus loved even him.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – be grateful for Jesus’ love for YOU!

I am so glad that our Father in Heav’n tells of His love in the Book He has giv’n;
wonderful things in the Bible I see, this is the dearest, that Jesus loves me.

Refrain

I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me.
I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves even me.

Though I forget Him, and wander away, still He doth love me wherever I stray;
back to His dear loving arms I do flee, when I remember that Jesus loves me.

Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing, when in His beauty I see the great King,
this shall my song through eternity be, “Oh, what a wonder that Jesus loves me!”

Jesus loves me, and I know I love Him; love brought Him down my poor soul to redeem;
yes, it was love made Him die on the tree; oh, I am certain that Jesus loves me.

If one should ask of me, how can I tell?  Glory to Jesus, I know very well!
God’s Holy Spirit with mine doth agree, constantly witnessing Jesus loves me.

In this assurance I find sweetest rest, trusting in Jesus, I know I am blessed;
Satan, dismayed, from my soul now doth flee, when I just tell him that Jesus loves me.

Leave a Reply

