I NEED THEE EVERY HOUR                                                        written in 1872

The Story

There have probably not been many hymns written by 37-year-old housewives from Brooklyn, NY, but that’s the story behind this hymn. Annie Hawks (1836-1918) was busy with household chores when the words for this hymn came to her. Later she recalled that day: “I was so filled with a sense of nearness to my Master that… these words ‘I need Thee every hour’ were flashed into my mind.”

It was a bright June day, so Annie sat by an open window, picked up her pencil, and wrote this entire hymn in one sitting. She gave the words to her pastor, Robert Lowry, who wrote the music and the chorus.

When evangelist Dwight L. Moody discovered this simple hymn and began to use it in his revival meetings, this hymn became famous… much to the amazement of Annie Hawks.

Annie would say years later, “I did not understand at first why this hymn had touched the great throbbing heart of humanity. It was not until long after, when the shadow fell over my way, the shadow of a great loss, that I understood something of the comforting power in the words which I had been permitted to give out to others in my hour of sweet serenity and peace.”

Evidently, everyone – even middle-aged housewives in Brooklyn – needs Jesus every hour of every day.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – acknowledge your need for Jesus and rely on Him every hour of this day.

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
no tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

Refrain:
I need Thee, O I need Thee; every hour I need Thee;
O bless me now, my Savior, I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour; stay Thou nearby;
temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.  (Refrain)

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
come quickly and abide, or life is vain.  (Refrain)

I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
and Thy rich promises in me fulfill.  (Refrain)

I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;
O make me Thine indeed, Thou blessed Son.  (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

