TAKE MY LIFE AND LET IT BE                                                    written in 1874

The Story

In December 1873, Frances Ridley Havergal surrendered herself completely to God through faith in Jesus Christ. She became a Christian. Of that experience, she wrote, “I just yielded myself to Him, and utterly trusted Him to keep me.”

2 months later, she went for a 5-day visit to a place where there were several non-Christians. Before going, she prayed, “Lord, give me all in that house.” And that’s what happened. She was so happy on the last night, she couldn’t sleep. As she praised the Lord, the words of this hymn came to her mind. The next morning, on Feb. 4, she wrote down the words that would become this hymn, finishing with, “Ever, only, ALL for Thee”. As she wrote those words, she capitalized the word “ALL”.

Because her voice was lovely, Frances was in demand as a concert soloist. She was also a brilliant pianist and learned several modern languages as well as Greek and Hebrew. With all her education, however, Frances Havergal maintained a simple faith and confidence in her Lord. She never wrote a line of poetry without praying over it.

One of the lines of this hymn says, “Take my silver and my gold; not a mite would I withhold.” In 1878, 4 years after writing this hymn, Frances wrote a friend: “The Lord has shown me another little step, and, of course, I have taken it with extreme delight. ‘Take my silver and my gold’ now means shipping off all my ornaments to the Church Missionary House, including a jewel cabinet that is really fit for a countess, where all will be accepted and disposed of for me… Nearly fifty articles are being packed up. I don’t think I ever packed a box with such pleasure.”

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – surrender every part of your thoughts, words, and actions to God.

Take my life and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
Take my moments and my days, let them flow in endless praise.

Take my hands and let them move at the impulse of Thy love.
Take my feet and let them be swift and beautiful for Thee.

Take my voice and let me sing, always, only for my King.
Take my lips and let them be filled with messages from Thee.

Take my silver and my gold, not a mite would I withhold.
Take my intellect and use every pow’r as Thou shalt choose.

Take my will and make it Thine, it shall be no longer mine.
Take my heart, it is Thine own, it shall be Thy royal throne.

Take my love, my Lord, I pour at Thy feet its treasure store.
Take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee.

Leave a Reply

