I KNOW WHOM I HAVE BELIEVED                                              written in 1883

The Story

Maybe you’ve heard the saying, “It’s not what you know, but who you know.” When you’re looking for a job, that saying often seems to be true. But, it’s also a foundational Christian truth. You can study a lifetime to try to discover who God is and how to reach Him. But it really all comes down to one question: Do you know Jesus?

As a prisoner of war during the Civil War, Daniel Whittle (1840-1901) began reading the New Testament his mother had put in his kit bag when he went off to war. As a result of what he read, he eventually gave his life to God through faith in Jesus Christ.

After the war, Daniel was promoted to the rank of major… and then became a successful businessman. In 1873, he began preaching in evangelistic services; for a quarter of a century he led revivals throughout the United States. He also encouraged some of the leading songwriters of his time, and wrote over 200 hymns himself… including “Showers of Blessing” and “Moment by Moment”. Daniel also wrote this hymn, maybe thinking back to questions he had asked during his war imprisonment.

James McGranahan (1840-1907) wrote the music for this hymn.

The refrain of this hymn is a direct quotation from 2Timothy 1:12 (KJV).

There were surely many things he did not yet know about God, but he certainly  knew God through Jesus… and that was enough.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – place all your uncertainties in the certainty found in God.

I know not why God’s wondrous grace to me He hath made known,
nor why, unworthy, Christ in love redeemed me for His own.

Refrain:
But “I know Whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able
to keep that which I’ve committed unto Him against that day.”

I know not how this saving faith to me He did impart,
nor how believing in His Word wrought peace within my heart.  (Refrain)

I know not how the Spirit moves, convincing men of sin,
revealing Jesus through the Word, creating faith in Him.  (Refrain)

I know not what of good or ill may be reserved for me,
of weary ways or golden days, before His face I see.  (Refrain)

I know not when my Lord may come, at night or noonday fair,
nor if I’ll walk the vale with Him, or meet Him in the air.  (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

