WHERE HE LEADS ME                                                                  written in 1890

The Story

Ernest W. Blandy, a Salvation Army officer, wrote this invitation hymn after choosing between a comfortable post at an established church, and an alternate assignment to the New York City waterfront and slum called Hell’s Kitchen. He chose the latter. His biography has been lost to history, and nothing else – not even his birth or death year – is known about him.

John S. Norris (1844-1907), a pastor and evangelist, wrote the music.

“If anyone would come after me, he must… take up his cross and follow Me.”  (Mark 8:34)

            Some people criticize some of the church music written today; they say it’s too repetitive. They evidently have forgotten this song…

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – determine to follow where Christ leads.

I can hear my Savior calling, I can hear my Savior calling,
I can hear my Savior calling, “Take thy cross and follow… follow Me.”

Refrain:
Where He leads me I will follow.  Where He leads me I will follow.
Where He leads me I will follow; I’ll go with Him, with Him all the way.

I’ll go with Him through the waters, I’ll go with Him through the waters,
I’ll go with Him through the waters, I’ll go with Him… with Him all the way.  (Refrain)

I’ll go with Him through the garden, I’ll go with Him through the garden,
I’ll go with Him through the garden, I’ll go with Him… with Him all the way.  (Refrain)

I’ll go with Him to dark Calv’ry, I’ll go with Him to dark Calv’ry,
I’ll go with Him to dark Calv’ry, I’ll go with Him… with Him all the way.  (Refrain)

I’ll go with Him to the judgment, I’ll go with Him to the judgment,
I’ll go with Him to the judgment, I’ll go with Him… with Him all the way.  (Refrain)

He will give me grace and glory, He will give me grace and glory,
He will give me grace and glory, and go with me… with me all the way.  (Refrain)

            Though there was an alternate version that might be considered more complex… and it’s probable you’ve never heard it sung!

I can hear my Savior calling, in the tend’rest accents calling,

on my ear these words are falling, “Take thy cross, and daily follow Me.”

Refrain:

I will take my cross and follow, my dear Savior I will follow,

Where He leads me I will follow, I’ll go with Him… with Him all the way.

 

Though the way be dark and dreary, though my feet be worn and weary,

Yet my heart keeps bright and cheery as I follow… follow all the way.  (Refrain)

 

Savior, ever go before me, shining Heaven’s sunlight o’er me,

And when weak, by grace restore me as I follow… follow all the way.  (Refrain)

 

Through the valley safely lead me, Heav’nly manna daily feed me;

Every hour, dear Lord, I need Thee as I follow… follow all the way.  (Refrain)

 

In Thy heart’s affection hold me; in Thy arms of love enfold me,

And with Thine own grace uphold me as I follow… follow all the way.  (Refrain)

 

I would never leave Thee, never; faithful I would be forever;

Nothing from Thy love can sever as I follow… follow all the way.  (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

