OPEN MY EYES, THAT I MAY SEE                                             written in 1895

The Story

God calls us to service, and expects us to use all of who we are to see and serve Him. We must keep out entire beings – our bodies and our souls – tuned to God’s every communication and prompting. In our busy lives, we often miss the quiet prompting of the Holy Spirit. And, when we do hear God speak, we often ignore the message. We think we’re too busy. We think we have more important things to do.

This hymn calls us to watch, listen, and act on what we have seen and heard, sharing it with others.

Clara Scott (1841-1897), the writer of this hymn, was a music teacher who composed much instrumental and voice music. She began teaching music when she was only 8 years old at a small high school in rural northeastern Iowa, and that is where she spent most of her life. But God expanded her ministry through her instrumental and vocal compositions. She was known in many Christian circles for her book of anthems, The Royal Anthem Book, that was published in 1882.

Two years after writing this hymn, as Clara was riding in a carriage, her horse was spooked… and began running crazily through the streets. Clara was thrown from the carriage and killed.

Learning to use the senses mentioned in this song requires patience and reflection. The gentle meter of Clara’s music in this hymn provides a subtle sense of dancing in tune with the Spirit as we learn to see, hear and speak the truth from our hearts.

Clara’s eyes and ears were open to God’s leading, and she was ready to obey.

We should be ready to do the same.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – pray for eyes that will see what God has to show you.

Open my eyes, that I may see glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;
place in my hands the wonderful key that shall unclasp and set me free.
Silently now I wait for Thee, ready, my God, Thy will to see.
Open my eyes, illumine me, Spirit divine!

Open my ears, that I may hear voices of truth Thou sendest clear;
and while the wavenotes fall on my ear, everything false will disappear.
Silently now I wait for Thee, ready, my God, Thy will to see.
Open my ears, illumine me, Spirit divine!

Open my mouth, and let me bear gladly the warm truth everywhere;
open my heart and let me prepare love with Thy children thus to share.
Silently now I wait for Thee, ready, my God, Thy will to see.
Open my heart, illumine me, Spirit divine!

Leave a Reply

