OH THAT WILL BE GLORY                                                           written in 1900

The Story

Songwriter Charles Gabriel (1856-1932) had a good friend named Ed Card, who was superintendent of the Sunshine Rescue Mission in St. Louis, Missouri. Card was one of those exuberant people who always had a smile on his face. In fact, his disposition earned him the nickname, “Old Glory Face”.

If he was blessed by a sermon or a song or a prayer, he would shout “Glory”, while others might – at best – simply mumble “Amen” under their breaths. Apparently, he got his inspiration from Psalm 29:9, which says, “In His temple everyone shouts, ‘Glory!’”

When Card prayed, he often closed his prayer with a reference to Heaven, then he would add, “And that will be glory for me.” As Charles thought about his friend, he was motivated to write a gospel song about glory.

During the early summer of 1900, while bicycle riding with a friend, Chicago publisher E.O. Excell, he told him: “I’ve got a song that is going to live!” He then gave the title of, and made brief quotations from, “O that will be glory.” He was paid $10 for the song.

Of course, the focus of this hymn is not on getting glory for ourselves, but on the glorious experience of arriving in Heaven and seeing Jesus face to face.

This song I sometimes titled “Glory Song”.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – try to introduce a little of Heaven’s glory into your day.

When all my labors and trials are o’er,
and I am safe on that beautiful shore,
just to be near the dear Lord I adore,
will through the ages be glory for me.

Refrain:
Oh, that will be glory for me,
glory for me, glory for me,
when by His grace I shall look on His face,
that will be glory, be glory for me.

When, by the gift of His infinite grace,
I am accorded in heaven a place,
just to be there and to look on His face,
will through the ages be glory for me.  (Refrain)

Friends will be there I have loved long ago;
joy like a river around me will flow;
yet just a smile from my Savior, I know,
will through the ages be glory for me.  (Refrain)

One response »

  1. John says:

    I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful
    than ever before.

Leave a Reply

