SAVED, SAVED, SAVED                                                                written in 1911

The Story

J.P. Scholfield wrote this song after one of Mordecai Ham’s meetings in Gonzales, Texas. Ham was preaching on the subject, “Christ our Refuge.” In the audience was a man that had killed 4 men. He listened to Ham explain that Christ is a refuge for sinners, of any and every stripe, and that the Cities of Refuge in the Old Testament are a type of Christ, who is a haven of hope and eternal forgiveness for all who will flee to Him.

Halfway through the sermon, the man jumped up from his seat and shouted, “Saved! Saved! Saved!” Sitting there in his seat, he found Christ as his refuge.

J.P. (“Jack”) was so inspired that the next afternoon he composed both the words and music for this song. Not much is known of Jack, other than the fact he was born in 1882.

This is a unique hymn; it has an odd timing, but is a great example of waltz music!

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – ask God whether or not you are saved.

I’ve found a Friend, who is all to me, His love is ever true;
I love to tell how He lifted me and what His grace can do for you.

Refrain

Saved by His power divine, saved to new life sublime!
Life now is sweet and my joy is complete, for I’m saved, saved, saved!

He saves me from every sin and harm, secures my soul each day;
I’m leaning strong on His mighty arm; I know He’ll guide me all the way. (Refrain)

When poor and needy and all alone, in love He said to me,
“Come unto Me and I’ll lead you home, to live with Me eternally.” (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

