SINCE JESUS CAME INTO MY HEART                                     written in 1914

The Story

It might be hard to believe, but this joyful song was written after a father, Rufus McDaniel (1850-1940) had buried his youngest son. Rufus’ son, Herschel, was, of course, much loved by his parents, so when his life ended at an early age, it was heart-wrenching for both the father and mother.

But Rufus felt the best way to honor his son was to write a gospel song filled with joy and hope. Such a song would not only lift him and his wife out of their grief, but would also be a suitable remembrance of their son, Herschel.

Rufus often sent his poems out to be published as songs. He sent 6 poems (including the words that became this song) to song writer Charles Gabriel as many seemed to enjoy singing Gabriel’s songs. But Rufus never heard anything in return; as such, he just felt the poems were rejected. Until one day he read of the words to this poem in a publication… and then others… and then even more poems. Not only did Gabriel take the words to this song and put it to music, it was in fact sung at most revival meetings with Billy Sunday and folks were singing this song in the streets of Philadelphia… though most never knew the pain  that birthed this song.

So Rufus, a pastor and part-time poet in southern Ohio, wrote this gospel song that speaks of a hope that is steadfast and sure, as well as a light in the valley of death. The joy was there for Rufus because Jesus had come into his heart.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – find the joy… in whatever your circumstance might be… of having Jesus in your heart.

What a wonderful change in my life has been wrought since Jesus came into my heart;
I have light in my soul for which long I have sought, since Jesus came into my heart.

Refrain:
Since Jesus came into my heart, since Jesus came into my heart;
floods of joy o’er my soul like the sea billows roll, since Jesus came into my heart.

I have ceased from my wand’ring and going astray, since Jesus came into my heart;
and my sins which were many are all washed away, since Jesus came into my heart.(Refrain)

I’m possessed of a hope that is steadfast and sure, since Jesus came into my heart;
and no dark clouds of doubt now my pathway obscure, since Jesus came into my heart.(Refrain)

There’s a light in the valley of death now for me, since Jesus came into my heart;
and the gates of the City beyond I can see, since Jesus came into my heart. (Refrain)

I shall go there to dwell in that City I know, since Jesus came into my heart;
and I’m happy, so happy as onward I go, since Jesus came into my heart. (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

