LIVING FOR JESUS                                                                         written in 1917

The Story

            Charles Lowden (1883-1963) of Camden, New Jersey, had a music business and wrote music for gospel songs. His church had asked him to compose a gospel song for the children’s day service, and he was happy to do it. He named it “Sunshine Song”. But, after it was performed, he wasn’t pleased with it. He thought the music was okay, but the words weren’t right… so he put the song on the shelf.

About 2 years later, he heard that – due to poor health and poor finances – a well-known Christian songwriter, Thomas Chisholm (1866-1960), was moving from Indiana to Vineland, New Jersey. Charles looked forward to meeting him and wondered if they could team up for a song.

Then he remembered the music he had written 2 years before. He asked Chisholm if he could write some new words for it – maybe something along the theme of living for Jesus. Chisholm wasn’t so sure; he had written many hymns, but had never written words to fit a pre-existing tune. But he agreed to try; 2 weeks later Charles got the words he wanted from Chisholm. Those words – and that tune – became this hymn.

Chisholm, resisting writing a text to a pre-existing tune, had protested that “he didn’t have the slightest idea as to the method used in writing words to music.” The result, though, was this song… which became second in popularity only to his most well-known hymn, “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.”

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – examine your daily activities. Are YOU living for Jesus?

Living for Jesus, a life that is true, striving to please Him in all that I do;
yielding allegiance, glad-hearted and free, this is the pathway of blessing for me.

Refrain:
O Jesus, Lord and Savior, I give myself to Thee,
for Thou, in Thy atonement, didst give Thyself for me;
I own no other Master, my heart shall be Thy throne;
my life I give, henceforth to live, O Christ, for Thee alone.

Living for Jesus Who died in my place, bearing on Calv’ry my sin and disgrace;
such love constrains me to answer His call, follow His leading and give Him my all.(Refrain)

Living for Jesus, wherever I am, doing each duty in His holy Name;
willing to suffer affliction and loss, deeming each trial a part of my cross. (Refrain)

Living for Jesus through earth’s little while, my dearest treasure, the light of His smile;
seeking the lost ones He died to redeem, bringing the weary to find rest in Him. (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

