IN MY HEART THERE RINGS A MELODY                                 written in 1924

The Story

            This gospel song was written on a hot summer day in Texas.  Elton Roth (1891-1951), a music evangelist, was directing music for evangelistic services in a cotton-mill town when – one afternoon – he took a walk to see the big cotton mill outside of town. It was a long walk for a hot day, so when he returned to town, he looked for some shade in which to rest. That’s when he saw a church on a corner.

This is the way he tells it: “The door being open, I went in. There were no people in the pews, no minister in the pulpit. Everything was quiet, with a lingering sacred presence. I walked up and down the aisle, and began singing a melody that came to me: ‘In my heart there rings a melody’. I hurried to the pastor’s study to find some paper. I drew a staff, and sketched the melody, remaining there for an hour or more to finish the song, both words and music.”

That evening at an open-air meeting, Elton introduced this song to about 200 boys and girls. They sang it enthusiastically (it’s such a fun song to sing!), and the adults joined in to sing it again. Elton was thrilled with the response to his new song.

This is one of the earliest songs I can remember singing… growing up in Hope Reformed Church in Grand Haven, MI.  Maybe because it’s such a fun song – even for children – to sing…

The Song

            Read this song, and – today – sing the melody that’s in your heart!

I have a song that Jesus gave me, it was sent from heav’n above;
there never was a sweeter melody, ’tis a melody of love.

Refrain:
In my heart there rings a melody,
there rings a melody with heaven’s harmony;
in my heart there rings a melody,
there rings a melody of love.

I love the Christ who died on Calv’ry, for He washed my sins away;
He put within my heart a melody, and I know it’s there to stay. (Refrain)

‘Twill be my endless theme in glory, with the angels I will sing;
’twill be a song with glorious harmony, when the courts of heaven ring. (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

