ROCKIN’ ON THE WAVES                                                             written in 1925

The Story

This song  was written by Arthur B. Sebren (1879-1963) and was first recorded and released by Vaughan Quartet in 1925… and is one of the more fun quartet songs you will listen to!

Arthur was born in Sabine Parish, Louisiana, the third of twelve children. Arthur was a vocalist, teacher, and composer and was the brother of George Washington Sebren who himself was a well-known singer, composer and publisher.

Beginning in 1925, Arthur was the baritone in the Vaughan Happy Two along with tenor Cullie G. Wilson. The popular duo traveled throughout the United States and recorded under both the Vaughan and Victor labels.

Arthur wrote many songs but is best remembered for “I’ll Be No Stranger There”, written with J.H. Alcon and recorded by the Chuck Wagon Gang in 1941, and “Rockin’ On The Waves”, recorded by the Vaughan Quartet , the Speer Family, the Brown’s Ferry Four, and still popular with quartet groups today.

I first heard this song sung by The Hee Haw Quartet on the old Hee Haw TV show, and it’s one of those songs that sticks with you! I have also used this song as a song “sung” by puppets; it’s tough to sing… whether with your voice or with a puppet.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – while you’re rockin’, look to Jesus.

I am on the restless sea of life, where no calmness comes to still the tide

for ‘tis full of deadly sin and strife; rest and peace are on the other side.

Chorus

I am rockin’, rockin’ rockin’ on the waves.

I am rockin’ rockin’, rockin’ rockin’… rockin’, rockin’… rockin’, rockin’…

on the ocean waves.

I am rockin’, rockin’ rockin’ on the waves.

I am rockin’ rockin’, rockin’ rockin’… rockin’, rockin’… rockin’, rockin’…

on the ocean waves.

 

Soon my ship will anchor over there, by the help of Christ, Him, crucified;

He is helping with His unseen hand, in His arms I’m rockin’ in the tide. (Chorus)

 

What a glorious thought to feel this way, when the ragin’ tempest rolls on high,

knowing He will hear me when I pray, and sweetly save me in the by and by. (Chorus)

Leave a Reply

