WHEREVER HE LEADS I’LL GO                                                  written in 1936

The Story

R.S. Jones, a missionary, was speaking at a Sunday School convention in Clanton, Alabama. After many years of missionary service in Brazil, he had been forced to return home; doctors said he could not return to the mission field.

Baylus Benjamin (B.B.) McKinney (1886-1952), a leading Southern Baptist hymn-writer, was leading the singing at that Sunday School convention on the night his friend, Jones, was speaking. After the meeting that night, B.B. asked Jones about his plans for the future.

Jones said he didn’t know what God had in store for him, but said, “Wherever He leads, I’ll go.” B.B. couldn’t get those words out of his mind. He went to his room, and wrote down the words and music for this hymn.

Jones was speaking again at the closing session of that convention and, after his message, BB told Jones’ story… and then sang this hymn for the convention.

That missionary named Jones was willing to go wherever God led.  Sadly, most of us who sing this song today aren’t willing to even go next door…

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – commit to follow God… wherever He leads.

“Take up thy cross and follow Me,” I heard my Master say;
“I gave My life to ransom thee, surrender your all today.”

Refrain:
Wherever He leads I’ll go. Wherever He leads I’ll go.
I’ll follow my Christ who loves me so, wherever He leads I’ll go.

He drew me closer to His side, I sought His will to know,
and in that will I now abide, wherever He leads I’ll go. (Refrain)

It may be thro’ the shadows dim, or o’er the stormy sea;
I take my cross and follow Him, wherever He leadeth me. (Refrain)

My heart, my life, my all I bring to Christ who loves me so;
He is my Master, Lord, and King… wherever He leads I’ll go. (Refrain)

Leave a Reply

