VICTORY IN JESUS                                                                        written in 1939

The Story

Eugene M.  (E.M.) Bartlett (1885-1941) is a well-known name in southern gospel circles. He taught in singing schools – teaching shape notes – throughout the South and founded the Hartford Music Company (in Hartford, AR) in 1918. He brought gospel music into churches large and small.

In 1939, when Eugene was 54, he had a serious stroke. Partially paralyzed, he was practically confined to his bedroom. He could no longer travel and encourage churches in their singing. And he could no longer teach students, which he so loved to do.

But he could still study the Bible. Writing was difficult for him; he struggled to put words on a paper or notes on a score. But that’s the way he wrote the last song he wrote… this song: “Victory in Jesus”. It is not just a song filled with hope and cheer, but also a sound theology he learned from his Bible study.

This hymn has a been a favorite in every church I’ve pastored. It was also a favorite of my oldest daughter, Shelby; her favorite part was when it says “He socked me and bopped me with His redeeming love” (at least, that’s the way she loudly sang it as a 2-yr-old).

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – celebrate the victory that can be yours in Jesus.

I heard an old, old story, how a Savior came from glory,
how He gave His life on Calvary to save a wretch like me;
I heard about His groaning, of His precious blood’s atoning,
then I repented of my sins and won the victory.

CHORUS
O victory in Jesus, my Savior, forever.
He sought me and bought me with His redeeming blood;
He loved me ere I knew Him and all my love is due Him.
He plunged me to victory, beneath the cleansing flood.

I heard about His healing, of His cleansing pow’r revealing…
how He made the lame to walk again and caused the blind to see;
and then I cried, “Dear Jesus, Come and heal my broken spirit,”
and somehow Jesus came and bro’t to me the victory. (Chorus)

I heard about a mansion He has built for me in glory.
And I heard about the streets of gold beyond the crystal sea;
about the angels singing, and the old redemption story,
and some sweet day I’ll sing up there the song of victory. (Chorus)

Leave a Reply

