HE WILL PILOT ME                                                                          written in 1955

The Story

            Charles T. Bailey wrote this southern gospel hymn; Byron Whitworth wrote the music.

I could find no information about Charles. And any search of this hymn title goes back to an earlier hymn written by Edward Hopper in 1880. That is a different hymn with a totally different feel.

This hymn comes from Psalm 107:28-30.

This hymn is one of those parts songs that were sung in the small Baptist church I grew up in when we moved to Arkansas, Antioch Baptist Church. That church had – and still has – a rich history of singing, and teaching how to sing various parts.

This hymn was so much fun to sing… and I can still picture my aunt, Angalee Rushing, leading this hymn…

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – allow God to be the Pilot of your life.

Although I cannot see the way o’er life’s tempestuous sea, (dark sea)
I know that Jesus is my Friend and that He’ll pilot me. (pilot me)

Chorus:
He’ll pilot me…
(By his hand he’ll pilot me)
from day to day…
(Oh what life dark temptuous sea)
when blinded eyes…
(When my blinded eyes can’t see)
can’t see the way.
(Cannot see the way; the way)
Let come what may…
(Come what may, oh come what may)
on life’s dark sea…
(On life darkest stormy sea)
my blessed Lord…
(My blessed, blessed Lord)
will pilot me.
(He will pilot, pilot me) 2X

Dear Lord, whate’er the storm may be I’ll simply trust in Thee (In Thee);
relying on Thy love so true, to safely pilot me. (pilot me) (Chorus)

Leave a Reply

