FILL MY CUP, LORD                                                                       written in 1959

The Story

Most people think most hymns were written by someone who was going through a mountain-top experience, enjoying personal fellowship with God, or feeling blessed by God. But most hymns were written by someone as a result of a tragedy or trial they were going through. The writing of this hymn would probably not fit into either of those categories…

Richard Blanchard (1925-2004) born in China to missionary parents. He grew up to be the minister of a large Methodist church in Florida… large enough to have a TV ministry and all that comes with it. It seemed Richard was always busy… too busy.

In the midst of everything else he had to do, he was asked by a young couple to officiate their wedding. He agreed to do so if they would come in for pre-marital counseling. They met with him for their first session… but didn’t show up on time for their second session. Richard was irritated. He told his secretary, “I’ll wait for 30 more minutes and then I’m leaving.” He thought they were upsetting his entire schedule for the day.

He left his office and went into a Sunday school classroom. There he sat down at a piano and began to play. And, much to his amazement, God seemed to give him this song.

Blanchard later said, “When I was not in the mood to be used by God, God was in a mood to use me.”

So, in the course of a normal day… nothing that felt blessed and nothing that was tragic… a song was born. What might God be able to do in you or through you in the course of your normal day? A day much like today?

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – pray it as a prayer, asking God to do in You those things you cannot do on your own.

Like the woman at the well I was seeking for things that could not satisfy;
and then I heard my Savior speaking: “Draw from My well that never shall run dry”.

CHORUS
Fill my cup Lord; I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul.
Bread of Heaven, feed me till I want no more.
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

There are millions in this world who are craving the pleasures earthly things afford.
But none can match the wondrous treasure that I find in Jesus Christ my Lord. (Chorus)

So, my brother, if the things this world gave you leave hungers that won’t pass away,
my blessed Lord will come and save you, if you kneel to Him and humbly pray: (Chorus)

Leave a Reply

