HE TOUCHED ME                                                                            written in 1963

The Story

Bill Gaither (1936- ) was an unknown 27-year-old high school teacher in Indiana when the evangelist, Dale Oldham, invited him to play the piano at a revival meeting 50 miles away… and he was honored to do so.

The service was memorable. Dale’s son, Doug, provided the special music. Many people responded to the invitation. After the service, Bill, Dale & Doug, talked about how they had all felt the presence of the Holy Spirit. In fact, they felt that – during the meeting – the hand of Jesus had touched them. Just before the 3 separated for the night, Dale said to Bill, “You should write a song that says, ‘He touched me, oh, He touched me.’

So, the next morning, Bill wrote this song. And, within a week, Doug Oldham was singing it in concerts, and he soon made a recording of it. Then others recorded it, from the Imperials to Elvis Presley… who won a Grammy for his recording.

This song launched Bill Gather’s music career. Bill felt the song was successful simply because it expresses everyone’s testimony who comes to Jesus: “I had no hope, I was done. Then the hand of Jesus touched me.”

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – think of a time in your life when you felt the touch of Jesus.

Shackled by a heavy burden,

‘neath a load of guilt and shame;
then the hand of Jesus touched me,

and now I am no longer the same.

CHORUS

He touched me, Oh, He touched me,
and, oh, the joy that floods my soul!
Something happened and now I know,
He touched me and made me whole.

Since I met this blessed Savior,
since He cleansed and made me whole,
I will never cease to praise Him;
I’ll shout it while eternity rolls. (CHORUS)

Leave a Reply

