HE’S EVERYTHING TO ME                                                           written in 1964

The Story

Many people have tried to trace back to the roots of contemporary Christian music. Ralph Carmichael (1927- ) would have to be considered as a possible source. Ralph’s influence on Christian music spanned the second half of the 20th century. He won an Emmy in 1949 and recorded a number of CDs, even up into the 1990s.

He was the music director of Billy Graham’s early films, which brought him to the attention of Hollywood. He eventually wrote and arranged pop tunes for singers such as Nat King Cole, Perry Como, and Bing Crosby, who – at the time – were the biggest names in pop music. He worked with the I Love Lucy TV show and composed for the long-running Bonanza series.

His folk-rock musicals in the 1960s introduced pop music styles into Christian music, and today many of his songs are included in our hymnals… including this one.

In the late 1960s, Ralph realized that “many kids were calling me old-fashioned”. So, he started writing songs with a beat in order to communicate with the youth of his day. And this song came from that period of writing.

The words of this song are based on Philippians 3:7-9… and shares a testimony that will never go out of date.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – realize the satisfaction that only comes with seeing God as your everything.

In the stars His handiwork I see, on the wind He speaks with majesty;

though He ruleth over land and sea… What is that to me?

Chorus:

Till by faith I met Him face to face,

and I felt the wonder of His grace,

then I knew that He was more

than just a God who didn’t care, that lived a way out there, and…

now He walks beside me day by day,

ever watching o’er me lest I stray,

helping me to find the narrow way.

He’s everything to me.

 

I will celebrate Nativity, for it has a place in history.

Sure, He came to set His people free… What is that to me? (Chorus)

Leave a Reply

