PRAISE THE NAME OF JESUS                                                    written in 1970

The Story

What do you do when the going gets tough? You can either quit… or you can complain… or you can praise the name of Jesus! Roy Hicks chose the latter option.

In 1969, Roy Hicks was the pastor of a small, struggling church in Eugene, Oregon. The church was going the wrong way; attendance had fallen from 100 to 50. It was a discouraging situation. But, one day Roy began studying Psalm 18, which begins, “I will praise You, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my Rock, and my Fortress, and my Deliverer; my God, my Strength, in whom I will trust.” After reading this psalm, Roy prayed. He says, “The words and the tune came to me during that prayer time.”

The next Sunday, Roy taught it to his congregation. He wrote this song in 1970, but it was not copyrighted until 1976.

Soon after this, his church started growing… and his church started other churches. In fact, 59 churches were planted out of that church!

Roy died when the small plane he was piloting crashed in Jackson Country, Oregon in 1994, during a solo flight return from the Los Angeles area where he was speaking at a conference there. More than 5,000 people attended his funeral!

When the going gets tough, praise the name of Jesus.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – praise the name of Jesus!

Praise the name of Jesus!
Praise the name of Jesus!
He’s my Rock, He’s my Fortress,
He’s my Deliverer; in Him will I trust!
Praise the name of Jesus! (Repeat)

We praise Your name, Lord Jesus!
We praise Your name, Lord Jesus!
You’re my Rock, You’re my Fortress,
You’re my Deliverer; in You will I trust!
We praise Your name, Lord Jesus!

Leave a Reply

