FATHER, I ADORE YOU                                                                 written in 1972

The Story

Many people have some of their best times of worship while riding in a car! And a car is a great place to sing because no one but God can hear you… and He already knows what kind of voice you may or may not have.

Terrye Coelho (1952 – ) and her sister were driving home from a wonderful Christian-life Conference, worshipping God, as they traveled. Terrye started composing a new worship song… this song, and her sister joined in. By the time they arrived home, the whole song – text and tune – was finished. Terrye had just become a Christian a year before, and at the age of 20, she was worshiping the Lord through her own music.

A different Person in the Trinity is praised in each of the 3 short verses of this song, but when the worship chorus is sung as a round, the Trinity is praised simultaneously.

This song has great harmony, especially when sung as a round… and seems to fill whatever space it is sung in.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – read it as a prayer.

Father, I adore You… lay my life before You;
how I love You.
Jesus, I adore You… lay my life before You;
how I love You.
Spirit, I adore You… lay my life before You;
how I love You.

Leave a Reply

