OH, HOW HE LOVES YOU AND ME                                            written in 1975

The Story

Kurt Kaiser (1934 – ) has many awards for composing, conducting, and arranging music… including lifetime achievement awards. He is a member of the Gospel Music Hall of Fame. He has written many tunes in several different music styles and has written more than 400 songs.

Where do his ideas come from? He says, “Through the years I have been in the habit of keeping my ears tuned to the things people say, a phrase that may give me an idea for a new song. I’ll write it down quickly… and file it away in a special place in my office.  Occasionally, I will pull these things out and look at them.”

One day he came across the line, “O, how He loves you and me.” He began to think about that phrase, and in 15 minutes he had written this song. It’s a simple song, but God has used it to touch millions of hearts.

The Song

            Read this hymn, and – today – take comfort in the fact God loves you.

O how He loves you and me!

O how He loves you and me!
He gave His life, what more could He give?
O how He loves you, O how He loves me,
O how He loves you and me!

Jesus to Calv’ry did go,

His love for mankind to show;
what He did there bro’t hope from despair:
O how He loves you, O how He loves me,
O how He loves you and me!

Leave a Reply

