SHINE, JESUS, SHINE                                                                    written in 1987

The Story

            The most famous of all contemporary British Christian songwriters is Graham Kendrick (1950 – ). His songs are sung all over England in churches of all denominations. He has been a leader in what are called “Marches of Praise”, leading Christians as they march and sing through streets and housing complexes. His March of Jesus movement has involved nearly 60,000,000 people in prayer, praise, and proclamation activities.

This song is his best-known song in America. Kendrick says the most surprising thing about writing this song was the ordinariness of the circumstances. He says, “My longing for revival in the churches and spiritual awakening in the nation was growing”, so he wrote 3 verses. But the song didn’t seem complete, and it wasn’t until several months later he realized it needed a chorus.

He says, “I remember standing in my music room with my guitar slung around my neck trying different approaches, then the line “Shine, Jesus, shine” came to mind, and within about half an hour I had finished the chorus.” And this song wouldn’t be nearly the song it is without the chorus.

Soon, it became one of the most popular worship choruses in England, and today it is sung in many churches in America, too.

The Song

            Read this praise song, and – today – shine Jesus into a dark place.

Lord, the Light of Your Love is shining, in the midst of the darkness shining;
Jesus, Light of the World, shine upon us, set us free by the truth You now bring us.
Shine on me. Shine on me.

CHORUS
Shine, Jesus, shine, fill this land with the Father’s glory.
Blaze, Spirit, blaze, set our hearts on fire.
Flow, river, flow, flood the nations with grace and mercy.
Send forth Your word, Lord, and let there be light.

Lord I come to Your awesome presence, from the shadows into Your radiance.
By the blood I may enter Your brightness, search me, try me, consume all my darkness.
Shine on me. Shine on me. (Chorus)

As we gaze on Your kingly brightness, so our faces display Your likeness.
Ever changing from glory to glory, mirrored here may our lives tell Your story.
Shine on me. Shine on me. (Chorus)

Leave a Reply

