This song was recorded by Susan Ashton… included on her album. So Far.

Susan Ashton (born Susan Rae Hill, July 17, 1967) is an American Contemporary Christian Music and country music artist who topped the Christian charts throughout the 1990s. In 1991 she began using her mother’s maiden name, Ashton, when she recorded her first single, in order to distinguish herself from CCM singer Kim Hill.
Ashton has recorded 8 studio albums to date. She has also charted 14 #1 hits on the Christian charts, and 4 singles on the Hot Country Songs charts.
So Far… The Best of Susan Ashton Volume 1, an album of mostly previously released singles, was released in 1995, and featured a newly recorded track entitled “Stand.”

I first heard this song on a W.O.W. compilation CD; I’d never heard of Susan Ashton before. But this song is REALLY good! Let me know if you like it, too!!

This song is a statement of trust… that becomes a statement of faith.
Bible Reference… Exodus 18:23; 1Corinthians 16:13; 2Corinthians 1:24;
Ephesians 6:11,13; Philippians 1:27; 4:1; 2Thessalonians 2:15

With visible breath, I’m calling Your name. With visible tracks, I’m finding my way.
With a sorrowful heart, I honor this pain… and offer these tears to the rain.
In a moment of truth, at the top of the hill, I open my arms and let go of my will…

        CHORUS:
        And stand with my face to the wind…
        with the storm beating down on this sacred ground!
        If I stand for the grace that I’ve known, for what I believe,
        then I won’t stand alone. No, I won’t stand alone!

There’s a new pair of eyes to embrace all I see,
a new peace of mind and it comes quietly.
There’s a joy in my heart that You’ve given to me, and I offer this soul’s melody.
So, I beat on my chest ‘til my song has been sung,
and I cry like a wolf at the top of my lungs… (CHORUS)

        CODA:
        When the thundering voices of doubt try to shake my faith, oh
        I’ll be listening from inside out, and I won’t be afraid to… (CHORUS)

Leave a comment