This song was reworked and recorded by Matt Maher, included on his album, All The People Said Amen.

Matthew Guion Maher (born November 10, 1974) is a Canadian contemporary Christian music (CCM) artist, songwriter, and worship leader from Newfoundland, Canada; he now lives in the United States. He has written and produced 9 solo albums to date. 3 of his albums have reached the Top 25 Christian Albums Billboard chart and 4 of his singles have reached the Top 25 Christian Songs chart. He is a practicing Catholic. Maher has been nominated for 9 Grammy Awards in his career and was awarded the Songwriter of the Year for an artist, at the 2015 GMA Dove Awards.
He is a 2-time BMI Songwriter of the Year and in 2015 was named NSAI Songwriter of the Year. Along with his 9 GRAMMY Award nominations, he has also been nominated for more than 20 GMA/Gospel Music Association Dove Awards in his career, including “Song of the Year”, “Worship Song of the Year”, “Pop Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year”, and “Pop Contemporary Song of the Year”.
Maher performed this song before a crowd of nearly 4 million, including Pope Francis, for World Youth Day 2013 in Rio, Brazil.
In 2018, this song was certified Platinum by RIAA, his first certification.

This song is a reworking – or a redux – of the old hymn, I Need Thee Every Hour, written by Annie S. Hawks and Robert Lowry in 1872. It is now widely sung in churches as a praise chorus.
I loved the old hymn… and, sometimes, sing the words of this chorus to that old hymn’s tune.

Bible Reference… Deuteronomy 4:29; Psalm 32:8; 37:4; 40:17; 124:7,8; Matthew 6:33; John 14:6,8; Philippians 4:19,20; Hebrews 4:16

Lord, I come. I confess; bowing here, I find my rest.
Without You, I fall apart; You’re the One that guides my heart.

        CHORUS:
        Lord, I need You, oh, I need You. Every hour, I need You.
        My one defense, my righteousness; oh, God, how I need You!

Where sin runs deep, Your grace is more; where grace is found is where You are.
Where You are, Lord, I am free; holiness is Christ in me. (CHORUS)

        CODA:
        So, teach my song to rise to You when temptation comes my way.
        When I cannot stand, I’ll fall on You; Jesus, You’re my hope and stay. (CHORUS)

Leave a comment