This song was written by Bernie Herms and Mark Hall, and was recorded by Casting Crowns… included on their album, LifeSong.

Bernhard “Bernie” Herms (born March 26, 1972), the son of a Pentecostal minister, is a Canadian Christian musician, who is mainly a music producer, songwriter and composer. He has received GMA Dove Awards and been nominated for a number of Grammy Awards and GMA Canada Covenant Awards, due to his music production work.

John Mark Hall (born September 14, 1969) is the lead vocalist for the Contemporary Christian music group, Casting Crowns, a 7-member group composed of worship leaders. Hall himself is also youth pastor at Eagle’s Landing First Baptist Church in McDonough, GA.

Casting Crowns is a contemporary Christian and Christian rock band started in 1999 by youth pastor Mark Hall, who serves as the band’s lead vocalist. The Georgia-based group consists of members who also serve their local churches. The band has won a Grammy and a Dove Award.

This song reminds us that God is worthy of praise in good times… and in bad times.
Bible Reference… Job 1:21; Psalm 9:9; 42:11; 46:1; 121:1,2

I was sure by now, God, You would have reached down and wiped our tears away…
stepped in and saved the day.
But, once again, I say, “Amen”, and it’s still raining.
        CODA:
        As the thunder rolls, I barely hear Your whisper through the rain… “I’m with you.”
        And, as your mercy falls, I raise my hands and praise
        the God who gives and takes away.

        CHORUS:
        And I’ll praise You in this storm! And I will lift my hands
        that You are who You are… no matter where I am.
        And every tear I’ve cried You hold in Your hand;
        You never left my side. And, though my heart is torn,
        I will praise You in this storm.

I remember when I stumbled in the wind; You heard my cry… You raised me up again.
My strength is almost gone; how can I carry on if I can’t find You? (CHORUS)

        TAG:
        I lift my eyes unto the hills; where does my help come from?
        My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of Heaven and earth. (CHORUS)

Leave a comment